Call Us: (352) 571-1888
Toll Free (International): (844) 888-4805

Get to know us more:

Reviews

Open
X

Reviews.

 

Manatee Tour Testimonials

How was your experience with the manatees? Write us a review here.

5 stars

Never done anything like this before.

I thought I’d done everything exciting until I snorkeled with the manatees. It was an awesome privilege to be so close to such gentle creatures. One of them wrapped itself around my leg and towed me along for a few minutes.ill never forget that experience.

Michelle M.
February 23, 2019

5 stars

Best day ever!

I know there are a lot of companies out there that offer manatee tours, but You will not regret booking with Captain Mikes! We did the platinum tour with Captain Bill and truly had the best experience! Captain Bill was very knowledgeable about the area and manatee. He tapered the day to what we wanted to do and see. The boat is a house boat with bathroom and heat. They had coffee, tea, hot cocoa, water and snacks for us. We were able to observe/interact with 15+ manatee during the 5 hour tour. This was our favorite day while visiting Florida! I highly recommend Captain Mikes manatee tours!

Michelle M.
February 9, 2019

5 stars

Can’t wait to come back!

One of the most amazing experiences of my life. The crew was great and swimming with the manatees in their natural habitat was incredible. I can’t wait to come back and do it again. Thank you so much!

Stephanie Dolph
February 17, 2019

5 stars

Great trip out with Captain Tom and crew!

Great trip out with Captain Tom and crew! It was cold the night before, so lots of manatees came in from the gulf overnight. If you can make the 7am trip that’s the one to take. As weather warms up, the manatees move out of the river, so not as many to see at 10am, but enough to make it worth it! Captain Tom was very knowledgeable and a great storyteller! Would go again!

Cathy Lloyd-Langley
February 16, 2019

5 stars

Worth every penny!

Swimming with marine life has been on my bucket list for a long time! We came to Florida and only booked our tour after we got here because Discovery Cove was way higher for a similar experience with dolphins. I am so excited that I found Captain Mike’s website. It was easy to understand everything included and so reasonable, for our 5 hour tour. I would have paid even more given the incredible experience we had. Captain Yves and guide Max were outstanding, giving us every opportunity to view and swim with the manatee. Truly dedicated to their visitors. Worth every penny! There were many other boats/groups out in the waters, but none as dedicated to helping is locate the manatee. Captain Yves could be heard calling out which direction for us to swim to see these magnificent creatures. We will be back for sure!

Stacy Schott
February 7, 2019

5 stars

We will forever remember this day.

Thank you Captain Yves and Guide Sam for the Amazing experience today. We will forever remember this day. It seems the Manatees really like Sam 🙂 We really enjoyed the tour and would highly recommend the Platinum Tour if it is your first time swimming with the Manatees. Captain Yves made us feel right at home and took excellent care of us.

Margaret Owen
December 9, 2018

5 stars

Truly a bucket list experience

It was truly a bucket list experience. Our captain and guide were outstanding and found quite a few manatees at 7 a.m. I would highly recommend it

Martha Griggs Welsh
December 5, 2018

5 stars

The staff was so friendly!

What a great experience! The staff was so friendly. Captain Michael and Caleb (Thor) were great! If you are looking to swim with manatees this is the place to go!!

Domenica Brandon DeSalvo
September 3, 2018

5 stars

Such an amazing, unique experience!

Such an amazing, unique experience! Wade and Gavin were great guides – got us right up close and personal with several. They were both great with our kids as well and even took care of my littlest in the boat so we could enjoy our experience. I highly recommend!

Marie Kotnour Schalla
August 7, 2018

5 stars

Well worth the price!

Amazing experience… spiritual in many ways. My friend and I took the Platinum Tour, which is well worth the price. Captain Yves was an amazing tour guide. Very knowledgeable about the manatees and their behaviors, habitat, etc. I definitely recommend this amazing company!

Jeffrey A. Coffman
May 19, 2018

5 stars

Enclosed Heated Boat – Perfect For Cold Weather

We were very happy to choose Captain Mike’s because you will be very cold upon exiting the water in January or Feb. Captain Mike’s has an enclosed boat with a heater and I could not imagine being on one of the other boats that we saw without such. We were also provided with a good quality mask and wetsuit for the excursion.

The captain (also named Michael) easily directed us to the hotspots and quickly pointed out approaching mantaee so we would not miss them. An excellent experience and great value.

Justin S
February 3, 2018

5 stars

Helpful and have everything you need

Me and my partner rented a tandem kayak with anchor, snorkel and wetsuit here. They have change rooms to get in and out your wetsuit. If you don’t want the hassle of kayaking, they also have guided tours on motorized boats. They provide you with a map of the area and point out where manatees are sighted. Go early in the morning to see the most manatees. In the north of the area is a restaurant (Crackers) at the water where you can dock your kayak.

Pascal V
January 31, 2018

5 stars

Absolutely Fantastic

I am so very glad we decided to go with Captain Mike’s for our manatee experience! It was just a wonderful fun time! Our captain was Mike, and he was super! He was very informative, attentive, absolutely hilarious, and made the trip perfect! I can’t swim, but the noodles were perfect, also I hung on to my poor husband the entire time!! The manatees were just amazing to be around. Such wonderful sweet creatures. They swam right next to us and would lean on us, which was great! After we were done swimming Captain Mike had coffee, tea and hot chocolate waiting for us. He and his crew made it and brought it right to us. It was very welcome because it was only about 30 degrees that day! We were cold, but I wouldn’t change anything and would do it again in a minute! Thank you for giving my family and I a wonderful experience we will remember for a lifetime!

Anonymous
January 29, 2018

5 stars

Wonderful!!!

Must do!!! Best part of our entire trip. Always wanted to see a manatee got to see hundreds! Captain Mike’s did an amazing job making sure we had a great tour. Can’t say enough great things ! Ready to go back as soon as possible!

dalora2
January 27, 2018

5 stars

Wonderful day!

Wonderful day! Captain Yves was terrific and helped my non-swimmer husband build enough confidence to have a great time in the water. He is knowledgeable and explains things beautifully. Terrific experience. Thank you.

Sherilyn Siegmund-Roach
February 21, 2017

5 stars

Definitely a must if your in the area.

This was our first time and it was amazing! Captain Scott and first mate Brad were great. We saw so many mamatee with their help and had a great time swimming with them. Definitely a must if your in the area.

Stacy Nikitin
April 15, 2017

5 stars

Our tour was nothing less then the best.

Our Captian Scott was hilarious and extremely informative. He put us completely as ease. And made sure our tour was nothing less then the best. It will be a day that myself and my grandkids will never forget.

Cheryl Grooms
July 19, 2017

5 stars

Highly recommend these tours!

We had the time of our lives swimming with manatees! Captain Yves was so awesome – very funny, knowledgeable, and made this trip such a great experience. There were probably 20-30+ manatees we swam with today and Yves helped us navigate all the great spots to find them. Bucket list item fulfilled! Highly recommend these tours!

Amanda Pesch
February 1, 2017

5 stars

No words can explain how it feels.

Have done it twice once over Christmas with my parents which was unforgettable!! Being kissed by a manatee is awsome. They’re little eyes just look at you in wonderment as my eyes did with them.they are such a precious creature…went again in February….no manatees. Lots of schools of snooks. Still worth it. The manatees were in the sanctuary which is all good. If a person never does another thing in there life they need to do this. No words can explain how it feels…

Brenda Scott
February 17, 2017

5 stars

We had a fantastic tour!

well we had a fantastic tour. Captain Tom was the best guide and he did know exactly where to search for the manatees and was great to guide us the right way to the manatees from the boat when we was in the water.

David Raabo Revland
July 25, 2017

5 stars

Excellent service great friendly staff

This is my second time out with swimming with the manatees, excellent service great friendly staff, prices are great, equipment is fantastic, you can ask as many questions as you want the staff is very informational so if your not from the area don’t worry all of your questions will be answered, My biggest question was is there anything in this water that might hurt me, like Sharks or alligators, Nope there are none around, the lake is too busy, the water is so clean and clear the springs are absolutely amazing, you will have to see for yourself…I am from MA/CT and I am headed back in March 2017…can’t wait!!!!

Heather Sampson Valdes
February 6, 2017

5 stars

Our platinum tour with Captain Tom

What a glorious day we had in the water courtesy of Captain Tom! Not only was he nice, he was so knowledgeable and had a genuine love and passion for the manatees. He could feel our excitement as Chicagoans and anticipation to get up close with these wonderful creatures and did not let us down. We loved every moment of our tour and would come again in an instant! Thank you Captain Tom. You made a Chicago family love manatees even more. Much love to you and your grown up career. When we grow up we want to work at Captain Mikes!! Love from the Kovack Family!

Becky Kovack
March 28, 2017

5 stars

Bucket list, another checked off.

This was amazing and our guides were great. We saw a ton of manatee and the guide was so informative.

WE had a group of 7, kayaked and snorkeled. saw a ton of manatees and flying fish!! the springs were bubbling away. I would do it again. I think our guides name’s were JJ and ? ( sorry don’t remember ).

sligo1986
March 12, 2017

5 stars

Great day!

Everyone at Capt. Mike’s especially our guide Tom were great! Perfect time of year for swimming with manatees! It was a day I will never forget!

Spagirl47
March 6, 2017

5 stars

What a day.

Captain Tom and guide Gina were great. The manatees where scarce the day we went. Those two worked so hard for us to find one. They did. We ended up seeing about 4 that day. It was a cold day so a lot of us boarded the boat early and saw a few from the boat. It was a great experience.

brenwillifo
March 2, 2017

5 stars

Captain Mike’s Swimming With The Manatees tour was great!

We used Captain Mike’s and had Captain Tom for our tour on October 5th. He was a great laugh, knowledgeable, and did a great job finding the Manatees. We found 2 and it was great to swim with them. We also got to see the whole river section and snorkel different areas. Sadly we didn’t find more Manatees, but they are wild animals- so we understand they don’t just appear to order! It does also depend on the time of year. Great day-very happy. Mr and Mrs Manvell. England.

Michelle Manvel
Oct 8, 2016

5 stars

Definitely going to go again!

Decided to try this after reading an article in National Geographic on Three Sister Springs and the over wintering of Manatees in the area. An internet search came up with Captain Mikes tours. Reviews were good so off we went and booked a tour. Because you had to be there thirty minutes prior to the trip we decided to take the ten o’clock tour and not the seven o’clock one and stay overnight seeing as we were driving from Tampa and did not want to have a really early start. “As a bye line we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and would highly recommend it “. We stopped off a few times on our journey up and found several areas of interest for walks or cycling. That evening we went for a meal at Crackers bar and grill, watched an amazing light show thanks to Mother Nature while we ate our meal.

Thanks to Google maps we found Captain Mikes with not to much trouble and parking did not present any problem either. Once inside we were fitted out with our wet suits,snorkel and mask and then shown a video on the do’s and don’t ‘s when swimming with the Manatees. In all fairness they did point out that the video was shot in ideal conditions with crystal clear waters and I gather during the winter period due to the number of Manatees visible.
All of us were very excited and keen to get going. Our tour guide was Captain Tom and from the get go was telling tales and jokes and passing on information regarding our swim. We were told that due to the passing of Hurricane Hermine the waters in Kings bay were slightly murky but we would still be ok and around thirty Manatees were reported to be there. After passing other tour boats and asking about any sightings we finally found one, sleeping on the bottom, so we got ready and entered the water. The depth was only four feet but we were given noodles to aid our buoyancy because you had to float and gently doggy paddle to where the Manatee was. We were already prepared with our prior information and floated waiting for the Manatee to surface to breath then go back down to resume its sleep pattern. In our group was a family from New Jersey and one of them was fortunate to have a “Manatee Kiss ” as it surfaced. They are such gentle creatures and all on our tour were quite humbled by the whole experience. Even though we did not have the most favourable conditions we are definitely going to go again.

After the tour we stopped for something to eat and a cold drink at a local restaurant/bar on the water called the Margarita Breeze. Good food, drink and service. Just what we needed after an exciting morning.

Alun H
Oct 18, 2016

5 stars

This tour was great!

We were only in FL for a few days and made the drive up to Crystal River to see the manatees. I selected Capt Mike’s swimming with the Manatees mostly because we were staying at the hotel where the marina is and we scheduled the 7am tour. Everyone involved was knowledgeable and friendly. Capt Tom made sure we spotted and swam with the manatees even though it is not the prime season. All four of us had great encounters! Capt Tom was very good in spotting the manatees and pointing them out to us while we were in the water. All we had to do was look back at Tom, go where he pointed and enjoy! And enjoy we did! I plan to go back again, perhaps in the dead of winter to see the hundreds, but this tour was great!

Karey
Nov 8, 2016

5 stars

A Unique Experience on the Pontoon

I saw about five or six manatees today. The main experience that I had was the encounter with the calf; I got to rub its belly a bit. It put me in awe a little bit and wrapped up the whole experience for me. I’m from Virginia so right around this time of year it would be freezing outside, but with 72 degree water and sunshine, it can’t get any better than the Florida heat out here. I love it. Year round. I would totally recommend it. The boat ride is wonderful, they point out pretty cool things like John Travolta’s backyard in his summer house. It’s quite a unique experience on the pontoon.

Customer
Aug 31, 2016

How was your experience with the manatees? Write us a review here.

Captain Mike's Swimming with the Manatees boasts the best water adventure in Crystal River, Florida with lots of things to do for you and your family. For more information, contact us, or call us at (352) 571-1888.